Local Treasures – Postcards of Dungog

Photograph taken circa April 1910 showing Edie Kelly, daughter of photographer George Kelly.

Day Shift – 20/11/2012 – 02:10 PM
Presenter: Carol Duncan
Interviewee: Gionni Di Gravio, Archivist, Newcastle University

University of Newcastle Archivist Gionni Di Gravio discusses an album of postcards featuring a series of photographs of Dungog and surrounds taken by photographer George Kelly between the years 1905 and 1915.

The full set can be viewed here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/uon/sets/72157631214828202/

 

Broadcast Notes:

The postcards were donated to the University of Newcastle in August 2011. The story relating to the postcards was published in the Newcastle Herald in a story by Mike Scanlon Keeping track of big events (H2 30th July 2011 p.8)

On the reverse side of the postcards are messages from Edie Kelly (Dungog); daughter of the photographer George Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder (Hamilton).

Originally in possession of Mr Brian Alder, and given to Mr Ian Clucas, and deposited by him with the University of Newcastle’s Archives on the 15th August 2011.

This Collection was digitised by volunteer Tom Robinson, who also transcribed the letters and arranged the dated letters in chronological order. Prepared and uploaded to Flickr by Gionni Di Gravio Archivist in August 2012.

 

Transcriptions:

GEORGE KELLY – PHOTOGRAPHER – DUNGOG

A9020 (xiii) Album of Dungog Postcards by George Kelly Photographer Dungog (c1905-1915), with correspondence on verso of postcards from Edie Kelly (Dungog) – daughter of the photographer George Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder (Hamilton) 1908-1914. Originally in possession of Mr Brian Alder, and given to Mr Ian Clucas circa 1962.

 

A9020 (xiii)-001

Dowling St. Dungog. 18. G. Kelly. Photo [1908]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 26th June 1908

Postcard (Recto) – Dowling St. Dungog. 18. G. Kelly. Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 26.06.08 6.30AM

Miss G Alder

Murry St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

I am very much ashamed to send this to you, because I I have not sent you one for a long time. Mother has been sick for a good while she is up now

From Edie Kelly

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-002

DUNGOG From Alisin’s. G.KELLY. Photo. [1909]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 6th April 1909

Postcard (Recto) – DUNGOG From Alisin’s. G.KELLY. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 6.AP.09 10-AM?

Miss G Alder

Murry St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Received Your Post  Card I was glad to get it you send me a long letter and I will send you one Florrie is down in Sydney excuse writing in I am in a hurry just at present I went up the river today do you still go to school not much news to tell

Love from your friend Edie

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-003

[Empire Day celebrations?] G. Kelly Photo Dungog. [1909]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 30th July 1909

Postcard (Recto) – [Empire Day celebrations?] G. Kelly Photo Dungog.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Postmarked: 30.JU.09

Miss G Alder

Murry St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

I received your post card I was glad to hear from you. I have a nice little playmate waiting for you to come up. Do you know Jean Stewart she said that she you knew you my playmates name is Dulcie Caldwell

Love from

Edie Kelly

 

A9020 (xiii)-004

[Empire Day celebrations?] G. Kelly Photo Dungog. [1909]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder  19th July 1909

Postcard (Recto) – [Empire Day celebrations?] G. Kelly Photo Dungog.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Postmarked: 19.JY.09

Miss G Alder

Murry St

Hamilton

Newcastle

De[a]r Gertie

Just a post card to let you know we are all quite well I received your post card some time ago you must excuse my writing this time as I have just finished my home work try & hurry up I told Jean Stewart

Love from Edie Kelly

 

A9020 (xiii)-005

SMITH & TIMS RAILWAY CONTRACTORS WITH EMPLOYEES PASSING THROUGH DUNGOG TO TAREE. 59. G. Kelly. Photo. [1909]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie 13th August 1909

Postcard (Recto) – SMITH & TIMS RAILWAY CONTRACTORS WITH EMPLOYEES PASSING THROUGH DUNGOG TO TAREE. 59. G. Kelly. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 13.AU.09. 10AM

Miss Gertie Alder

Murry St

Hamilton

NewCastle

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are well, you will have to excuse me this time for not writing, for I have kept you waiting a long time. When are you coming up Gertie? I am waiting for you., excuse my writing as I am in a hurry

Love from Edie Kelly

 

A9020 (xiii)-006

90., GOODS SHED CUTTING, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [1910]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder  17th February 1910

Postcard (Recto) – 90., GOODS SHED CUTTING, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 17.FE.10.

Miss G. Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Excuse me for not writing as I b have been pretty busy so I am writing you a few lines I started to a school again I love it now we have a new head master. Mr Cope he is nice. This is a picture of the cutting)

Love Edie

 

A9020 (xiii)-007

89., STATION SITE, DUNGOG. G. KELLY Photo. [1910]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 17th February 1910

Postcard (Recto) – 89., STATION SITE, DUNGOG. G. KELLY Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 17.FE.10

Miss Gertie Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

I hope you enjoyed yourself at Sydney I enjoyed my holidays. I went fishing, riding, & driving I am sending you 2 post cards Mother sends her love

Love from

Edie Kelly

 

A9020 (xiii)-008

88. BANDON GROVE BRIDGE & RIVER. G. KELLY Photo. [1910]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 30th May 1910

Postcard (Recto) – 88. BANDON GROVE BRIDGE & RIVER. G. KELLY Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked:30 MA.10

Miss Gertie Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are well Dulcie asked me to ask you did you forget her she said she wrote to you last. Excuse my writing as I have a terrible pen it is something awful I will say ta ta Dulcie sends her love

From Edie

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-009

100. BY THE STREAM, DUNGOG. G. KELLY Photo. [1910]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 19th April 1910

Postcard (Recto) – 100. BY THE STREAM, DUNGOG. G. KELLY Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 19AP10

Miss Gertie Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

New South Wales

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to answer your Post card. Look afts at our photos on this card. It has been taken a long time ago

Love from
Edie

 

A9020 (xiii)-010

A9020 (xiii)-010-Dungog-rectoPostcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 7th May 1910

Postcard (Recto) – 109., N.C. RAILWAY WORKS. DINGADEE. G. KELLY Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked:7.MY.10

Miss Gertie Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

New South Wales

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are all well, it has been raining here Friday & Saturday it is clearing up now we are having sports & a concert on 24th May we are pretty busy now getting ready we never get home till after fix five of an evening from Edie Kelly

 

A9020 (xiii)-011

FLOUR MILLS. J.B. WALKER. SAW MILLS. DUNGOG. G. KELLY Photo [1910]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder  23rd July 1910

Postcard (Recto) –

FLOUR MILLS.

J.B. WALKER.

SAW MILLS.

DUNGOG.

G. KELLY

Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked:23JY.10

Miss Gertie Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Received your post card yesterday I hav have been busy lately I am going to get my photo taken on Sunday

Love to all from

Edie xxx

 

A9020 (xiii)-012

68. TUNNEYBUC XING. Man standing on suspension bridge over creek. [1910]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 19th August 1910

Postcard (Recto) – 68. TUNNEYBUC XING. Man standing on suspension bridge over creek.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 19.AU.10

 

Miss G. Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Thanks for post card I thought it was so pretty I had a scotch one some thing like it before I think I will say it Ta Ta Love to all from

Edie

A9020 (xiii)-013

106., PILE DRIVING, N.C. RAILWAY BRIDGE, DUNGOG. G.KELLY Photo [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

 

Postcard (Recto) – 106., PILE DRIVING, N.C. RAILWAY BRIDGE, DUNGOG.

G.KELLY

Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are well. The Dungog Show will soon be coming off and we are pretty busy the races follow the show so we will have four busy days. I think I am going to the show if I can get away excuse writing as I am in a hurry to catch the mail. I went for a ride the other day and it was lovely I was sorry when it was ended I the am going to learn how to ride a byke soon this is Dulcie address

W.Caldwell

Dowling St

Dungog

Love from Edie XX

A9020 (xiii)-014

[Horse racing] G. Kelly Photo Dungog [1910]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 3rd December 1910

 

Postcard (Recto) – [Horse racing] G. Kelly Photo Dungog

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 3-DE.1910

Miss G Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

NSW

Dear Gertie

Received your P.C. This is the races last show. There are pony races today It is going to be a success so they all say Love from Edie X

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-015

 13. WASHPOOL BRIDGE G. KELLY. Photo [1911]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 17th January 1911

Postcard (Recto) – 13. WASHPOOL BRIDGE G. KELLY. Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 17.JA.11

 

Miss G. Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to let you know we are well, we have been having lovely rain here lately Excuse my writing as it is terrible

Love from

Edie xxxxx

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-016

ENGINE SHED. DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo [1911]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 19th June 1911?

Postcard (Recto) – ENGINE SHED. DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 10-A19.JE.11

 

Miss G. Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

I suppose you think I am a boske [archaic/provincial: lazy person] not writing to you but you will have to excuse me this time. We have had up to 90 borders [boarders] but now they are slacking off in another 6 weeks the line will be completed & it will be a good thing Write soon send me a couple more scotch cards Please as I want some more to make a set

Love from

Edie x+

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-017

No. 143., METHODIST CHURCH, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [1911]No. 143., METHODIST CHURCH, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [1911]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 3rd July 1911

Postcard (Recto) – No. 143., METHODIST CHURCH, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. Sign at entrance to Methodist Church reads: “Opening of Methodist Church TEA & PUBLIC MEETING Dr. Bromilon President of the Methodist Conference [will] open building …on Add …[Thu]rsday 2 … ALL WELCOME TICKETS…5.30 TO 7.30.” Also in photo is the Wesleyan Chapel 1853.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 3JL.11

Miss G. Alder

Swan St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Received your card a few days ago you have not got one of the school have you I lost the piece of paper that I had written the cards that you said you never had but will you let me know in your next card please Try & get me the set of those please, How do you like living in your new place from Edie xxx

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-018

145., BUILDING RAILWAY BRIDGE, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [1911]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 31st July 1911

Postcard (Recto) – 145., BUILDING RAILWAY BRIDGE, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 10-A31.JL.11

Miss G. Alder

Swan St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Received your nice card. I sent the Methodist church did not I

This is the Biggest R.Bridge this was before it was not quiet finished

The Railway is going to be opened on the 14th of August it will be a grea day

Love to all

From Edie x+

I dont mind what cards scotch cards you sent t me I have 14 now

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-019

160., BANDS, DOWLING ST. DUNGOG. G. KELLY.  Photo [1911]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder  21st August 1911

Postcard (Recto) – 160., BANDS, DOWLING ST. DUNGOG. G. KELLY.  Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 10-A21.AU.11

 

Miss G. Alder

Lawson St.

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are well I have 11 cards now they are lovely These are the Massed Bands the Dungog, Stroud & Clarencetown they played here a fortnight last Sunday Love to all Edie

Wirths Circus is here today (it just arrived

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-020

161., FIRST PASSENGER TRAIN AT DUNGOG. 14.6.11. G. KELLY. Photo.[1911]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 29th August 1911

Postcard (Recto) – 161., FIRST PASSENGER TRAIN AT DUNGOG. 14.6.11. G. KELLY. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 10-A29.AU.11

Miss G. Alder

Lawson St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Thanks for pretty card The opening day was a great day here Dad took 6 different positions this is one I will send them all to you this is the first train

It is terrible cold here to night. Love to all

excuse scribbling

Please

Love from

Edie

X++

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-021

162., RAILWAY OPENING, DUNGOG, 14.8.11. G. KELLY. Photo 14th August 1911.Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [14th August 1911]

Postcard (Recto) – 162., RAILWAY OPENING, DUNGOG, 14.8.11. G. KELLY. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Dear Gertie

Received your pretty card. I thought it was very pretty I like the series very much. I have three now like that one they look nice in a book. Excuse my writing as I am just going to go & look after the table our boarders are coming home for their dinner Florrie my sister will be home either Monday or Tuesday

Love to all

From Edie

 

A9020 (xiii)-022

59., STROUD HILL TUNNEL, SOUTH END. G. KELLY Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 59., STROUD HILL TUNNEL, SOUTH END. G. KELLY Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are all well As I am not I was sick last week & I have got two sore teeth & ear ache. I was at an evening the other night night & I had a good time and I would of had a better only my pains & aches were awaful It is a lovely day to Day Bright & Sunny We are going to try & go out to this place on Sunday on the trolly. I dont know if I have sent you this card before But by the way have you got the other side of the tunnel. let me know next time please

Love to all

I remain

Your Loving friend

Edie

Excuse my writing as I want to get ready for school

 

A9020 (xiii)-023

168., STROUD HILL TUNNEL. NORTH END. G. KELLY. Photo. [1912]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 29th March 1912

Postcard (Recto) –  168., STROUD HILL TUNNEL. NORTH END. G. KELLY. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

29”3”12

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to let you know I received the pretty card from you

We are pretty busy at school now Home Work every night & hard work at school as well. The Show will soon be here now It starts on the 1st & 2nd of May. I will likebe very likely going down to Newcastle on Saturday week But dont know for sure yet. During a Easter Holidays our class 6th is are going to ask Mr Cope to take us out again to the Tunnel It will be the third time for me

By the way We all enjoyed our selves very well We had a long walk into the tunnel But the smell nearly Killed us. I will close now

With Love to all

Edie x++

I dont know if Swan St is your address

But let me know

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-024

MUNNI BRIDGE 45. G. KELLY Photo. [1912]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 25 May 1912

Postcard (Recto) – MUNNI BRIDGE 45. G. KELLY Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 25.MY.12

 

Miss Gertie Alder

Swan St

Hamilton

Newcastle

NSW

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines trusting you are all in the best of health. It rained here last night & the day before & look very much like rain again It kept fine for Empire day. At school I hoisted the flag. Is this the right address of on this card? If not write it down next time I will close I am Your Loving friend Edie

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-025

MILITARY PROCESSION DUNGOG. 3.6.12. G. Kelly. Photo. 178 3rd June 1912Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 3rd June 1912

Postcard (Recto) – MILITARY PROCESSION DUNGOG. 3.6.12. G. Kelly. Photo. 178

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping to find you in the best of health. I was down in Newcastle of Wednesday but only for the day. Well Gertie I have got my artificial teeth and I can tell you they are lovely they fit me glorious & they make such a lot of difference they are far nicer than old decayed teeth & stumps. I only got them yesterday evening (Friday) & slept in them last night too. I can eat with them lovely they are no trouble at all.

I am your Loving

Friend

Edie ++++

This is on the 3rd June

It is only quarter of procession

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-026

COMMERCIAL BANK. DUNGOG. 20. G. KELLY. Photo. [1912]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 9th December 1912

Postcard (Recto) – COMMERCIAL BANK. DUNGOG. 20. G. KELLY. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

9/12/12

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to let you know I received your letter card. It is very hot to-day. Mother is down at Newcastle for a few days We have about 12 boarders & we have plenty to do. I will close now as it is nearly mail time. Remember me to all at home & hope you are all well I am

Your Loving friend

Edie

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-027

“Wansy’s” property and barn with cows and horses approx. 4 miles from Dungog township. [1913]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 12th January 1913

Postcard (Recto) – “Wansy’s” property and barn with cows and horses approx. 4 miles from Dungog township.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

12/1/13

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to let you know I am still alive and that is about all. It has been very hot these two or three days. I think we will have a storm soon. I forget if I wrote to you last or you wrote to me. This is a gentlemans place about 4 miles out of town. He got Dad to take him different pictures of his place he had 3 taken of his garden When all the roses were out in bloom But we have not got any more or else I would send them to you. I will close now hoping all are well. I am

Your ever loving friend Edie xx

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-028

“Wansy’s” property approx. 4 miles from Dungog township taken from a different angle. [1913]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 23 January 1913

Postcard (Recto) – “Wansy’s” property approx. 4 miles from Dungog township taken from a different angle.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

23/1/13

Dear Gertie,

Just a card to let you know we are still alive & Kicking. That other card I sent you is the same place this is taken in another way. I happened to find a couple of them so I will send them to you. I think it is a pretty place. They used to be always asking me down to their place, but I only went two or three times & they gave me a beautiful bunch of roses each time. They have got a lovely house & also a glorious garden. But they are well off.

I am your loving Edie

I am going to a surprise party tonight

 

A9020 (xiii)-029

“Wansy’s” property approx. 4 miles from Dungog township [1913].Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 9th February 1913

Postcard (Recto) – “Wansy’s” property approx. 4 miles from Dungog township taken from a different angle.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

9/2/13

Dear Gertie

Recd your card. This is another pa view of Wansy’s. This shows part of the the flower garden. This was taken when the Roses were out in bloom. It is dull& showery to-day. I think it will rain for a few days now. I went to the opening of Taree on Tuesday & had a good time. They say there were four thousand at the opening. Hope all are well at home

I am yours Loving friend

Edie Kelly

X++

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-030

“Wansy’s” property approx. 4 miles from Dungog township. [1913]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder undated [1913?]

Postcard (Recto) – “Wansy’s” property approx. 4 miles from Dungog township.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Dear Gertie

Just a card to let you know we are all well al. This is another card of Wansy’s I will send you some card of the opening of Taree Railway when they are finished. It has been very hot today. Flo Cooper my cousin went down to Ethels yesterday she is coming home in Thursday or Wednesday. Well I will close now Love to all

From your loving friend

Edie Kelly

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-031

OPENING DAY TAREE. 4.2.13 No. 40. G Kelly Photo. 4th February 1913Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 19th March 1913

Postcard (Recto) – OPENING DAY TAREE. 4.2.13 No. 40. G Kelly Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

19/3/13

Dear Gertie

I am sending you a card of the opening of the Railway to Taree. A great friend of ours died on Monday night. & was buried yesterday. It was a very sudden death Poor creature was in terrible pain. She was a loving & such a good old soul. We have not known here very long & all her family are lovely people there are 5 boys & 3 girls. Well I will close now. I will send you some more views

I am

Your Loving friend

Edie xx++

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-032

INTERIOR RAILWAY BRIDGE Dungog. No. 48. G. Kelly Photo [1913]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 27th April 1913

Postcard (Recto) – INTERIOR RAILWAY BRIDGE Dungog. No. 48. G. Kelly Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Dungog

27/4/13

Dear Gertie

I received your letter card a few days ago I was very pleased to get it as it was a Scotch view. It was a nice day for the the show on the Wednesday but the Thursday it was showery all-day & on Friday it cleared up but on Sunday it Teamed [teemed] again. This is a very pretty view next line time I will send you another view of the Railway Bridge

Yours Sincerely

Edie xxx

Remember me to all

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-033

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH Dungog. No. 54. G. Kelly Photo [undated] [1913]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 8th June [1913]

Postcard (Recto) – PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH Dungog. No. 54. G. Kelly Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

8th June Dungog

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to let you know we are still alive & well It is very cold to-day it started to rain It has been very cold all day. I dont know if you have got this few it has been taken recently & tell me if you you have got any views of the Railway Bridge we have got some taken lately which are all very pretty

Well Gertie I will close trusting all are well.

I am

Your Loving Friend

Edie

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-034

7., DUNGOG FROM THALABA RD. [1913?]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 18th June [1913?]

Postcard (Recto) – 7., DUNGOG FROM THALABA RD.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

18th June Dungog

Dear Gertie,

Just a few lines to let you know I have not forgotten you. I don’t know whether I sent you this card. This is a bird’s eye view of Dungog. It was taken about 2 miles away. Tell me if you have got a photo of the Railway Bridge. If you have not, I will send you some. Well, Gertie we have been having plenty of wet weather lately I am sick of it I am your loving friend Edie Kelly XXX

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-035

RAILWAY BRIDGE. Dungog No. 45 G. Kelly Photo. [1913]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 29th June 1913

Postcard (Recto) – RAILWAY BRIDGE. Dungog No. 45 G. Kelly Photo.

In ink “It was only about two feet from the bridge”

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

29-6-13

Dungog

Dear Gertie

I am sending you the other photo of the R. Bridge. Will you please tell me what other views of the river you have got you can give me the numbers. This was taken after having some heavy rain. The last flood we had the river was up to (X) this mark. We having have been having an awaful lot of rain lately This day is fine today for a wonder  but it is begining to get dull Please excuse scribble

Love from

Edie

 

A9020 (xiii)-036

Happy New Year No. 1 DUNGOG From CARLTON HILL. G. KELLY. Photo. [1913]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Mrs Alder 31st December 1913

Postcard (Recto) – Happy New Year No. 1 DUNGOG From CARLTON HILL. G. KELLY. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Postmarked: 31.DE.13

Mrs Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Mrs Alder

Will you give me Gerties address as she sent me a post card & I dont now where to send it I wish you all a merry chri happy New Year

Love from

Edie Kelly

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-037

COOREEI BRIDGE DUNGOG 39. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – COOREEI BRIDGE DUNGOG 39. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to let you know we are all well. It is beginning to rain now. We are having most miserable weather now It was raining nearly all last week & I think it will be the same this week. Florrie & I are going down to Newcastle on Wednesday week we are going down for the day. We have to go down on business. We are getting some dresses made & of course we have to go down or to get them fitted Well Gertie Please excuse scribbling

I am your loving friend

Edie XXX

 

A9020 (xiii)-038

92., GORDON PADDOCK, DUNGADEE., G.KELLY. Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 92., GORDON PADDOCK, DUNGADEE., G.KELLY. Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Miss G. Alder

Lawson. St.

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

I have been waiting for a card from you. I thought I wrote to you last letter never mind I passed the qualifying certificate Excuse my writing as I am in a hurry. Well there is not much news to tell you this time

Love to all

I am yours

Edie Kelly xx

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-039

139., PUBLIC SCHOOL, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 139., PUBLIC SCHOOL, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Miss G. Alder

Swan St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines in answer to your card. I am going to get a book for scotch cards & also for foreign cards as I have a few It has been raining here terrible these few days Love to all from

Edie X+++

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-040

G.KELLY. Photo. 42. COOREEI BRIDGE [Dungog] [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – G.KELLY. Photo. 42. COOREEI BRIDGE [Dungog] [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to let you know I am still alive & that is about all. We have been having very hot weather lately & it has not been agreeing with me. It started to sprinkle this morning & it is still sprinkling I think I will close now Hoping you are all well.

I am

Yours Sincerely

Edie Kelly

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-041

4., BANDON GROVE BRIDGE. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 4., BANDON GROVE BRIDGE. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines to let you know I am alright& hope you are the same. Flo & I were down to Newcastle last Wednesday to see about our show dresses. We will be able to get them made. We were going to the Maitland Show next day, but as we were so tired we did not go. I think the show up here will be very good this year. I have got a good few entries this year. Well Gertie I will close. Give my love to all at home

I am

Yours as ever

Edie xxxx

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-042

G. KELLY Photo 123., RAILWAY BRIDGE, PATERSON. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – G. KELLY Photo 123., RAILWAY BRIDGE, PATERSON. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Miss G. Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Received your welcome Post card. I would like very much to have the set of those lassies they are very pretty. Glad you past your exam Dulcie is leaving us soon not much news to tell

Love from Edie xxx

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-043

107., BENNETT BRIDGE, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 107., BENNETT BRIDGE, DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Miss G Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are well excuse me for not writing to you sooner but realy I am nearly off my head. We had a concert on Empire night & I have been busy

Love from Edie

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-044

131., ENGINE IN WALLAROBBA TUNNEL. G. KELLY Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 131., ENGINE IN WALLAROBBA TUNNEL. G. KELLY Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Miss G. Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Received your P. Card and your glad to hear from you I would like very much if you would send me a lot of those lasses as everybody likes them from Edie write soon

 

A9020 (xiii)-045

G Kelly.  Photo. 53. SCHOOL OF ARTS.  DUNGOG. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – G Kelly.  Photo. 53. SCHOOL OF ARTS.  DUNGOG. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are all well. I dont fell too well I have got a most frightful cold I think I must be getting influenza. Everybody  up here has got colds. I am not w in writing humor to-day. Flo Cooper has also got a pretty bad cold too. We have been having a lot of rain here lately & the roads are in a most frightful state I will close this scribble

I am

Your Loving Friend

Edie Kelly

X++++

X+++

I don’t know whether you have this card

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-046

132., CONCRETING WALLAROBBA TUNNEL. G. KELLY Photo [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 132., CONCRETING WALLAROBBA TUNNEL. G. KELLY Photo [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Miss G. Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

I received your Post card. Those others will Do just as well as I like Scotch postcards I think I will say Ta Ta write soon I hope you can understand my writing

Love from Edie

  

A9020 (xiii)-047

POST OFFICE Dungog. No. 44. G. Kelly Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – POST OFFICE Dungog. No. 44. G. Kelly Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dungog

Sunday.

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping all are well I received your card some days ago. I am going to get an album when I go to Newcastle& I am going to put all my Scotch views in it. I never had one like sent me at all. I was in Newcastle last Thursday I went down to get my show dress (Our show is on the 6th & 7th of May it will soon be now. Well Gert I will have to close now with

Love from Edie

Have you the Presbyterian Church

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-048

119., CONSTRUCTING 24 FT. ARCH. N.C.R. DUNGOG. G. KELLY Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 119., CONSTRUCTING 24 FT. ARCH. N.C.R. DUNGOG. G. KELLY Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

L 11905

Miss Gertie Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines hoping you are well this is another view of the railway Dulcie is very-ly to get a shift I will now conclude my note from

Edie Kelly x++

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-049

138., CONCRETE SUBWAY 4M. N.C.RAILWAY. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [18th February 1911?]

Postcard (Recto) – 138., CONCRETE SUBWAY 4M. N.C.RAILWAY. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

[postmark: 18FEB11?]

Miss G. Alder

Murray St

Hamilton

Dear Gertie

Just a few lines in answer to your card Father met with a painful accident last Sy Sunday the horse knocked him over & the wee wheels passed over his back He is getting better now

Ethell came up

Love from

Edie

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-050

158., STATION YARD. DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 158., STATION YARD. DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Miss G Alder

Swan St

Hamilton

Newcastle

Dear Gertie

Just a few words hoping to find you in the best of health

It was awaful hot here yesterday. Well excuse me for not writing much news as there is none to interest you in the hole of a place

Love to all

From Edie

Xx

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-051

170., TRAIN LEAVING DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – 170., TRAIN LEAVING DUNGOG. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dear Gertie

I think it is time I wrote to you dont you think the same

Well Gertie you will have to excuse me this time At school now we are studying hard for an examination which is to come off at Dec, 1st

I wish it was over we are always late at school in the afternoon we are there till nearly 5 oclock & at dinner time till after 1 oclock I am just going to go for my music lesson so please excuse my writing Remember me kindly to all

Love from

Edie

 

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-052

Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder [undated]Church of England. DUNGOG. 25. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Recto) – Church of England. DUNGOG. 25. G. KELLY. Photo. [undated]

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

Dear Gertie

I am writing you a few lines hoping to find you all in the best of health. I wrote you a post Card a long while ago but I never got an answer to it so I thought it you must have been sick. It was my Birth Day yesterday & I got some lovely present one was a lovely gold watch from Dad. I got two tailor serges for skirts & blou two nice blouses & got a nice silver jewel case

I am Your

Loving

Edie

  

 

A9020 (xiii)-053

RIVER NEAR RECTORY No.52. G Kelly. Photo [1914]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 1st March 1914

Postcard (Recto) – RIVER NEAR RECTORY No.52. G Kelly. Photo

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

1-3-14

Dear Gertie

No doubt you will be very much surprised to hear from me. It is a terrible long time since I heard from you. I dont know whether you have got this card. How many views have you got of Dungog now. You must have a lot. We have had a weeks wet weather & it is glorious I can tell you. It is awafully hot today. You will excuse this scribble wont you, Gertie

Love to all

With love

From Edie

 

 

A9020 (xiii)-054

PUBLIC SCHOOL Dungog. No. 42. G. Kelly. Photo. [1914]Postcard from Edie Kelly to Miss Gertie Alder 25th March 1914

Postcard (Recto) – PUBLIC SCHOOL Dungog. No. 42. G. Kelly. Photo.

Postcard (Verso) – In ink

 

Dungog

25-3-14

Dear Gertie

Received your card some days ago but have neglected in answering it. I thought you must have had more cards than that. It has been raining a lot lately It is still raining today. My cousins held her 21st birthday on Monday we had a great time. I am

Loving you

Edie

 

 

Gionni Di Gravio and Tom Robinson 2012

Leave a Reply

